Hey all, I’ve got a post for you from Eugenia Jefferson, author of Confessions of a Frustrated Millennial. Enjoy!

Hello everyone! My name is Eugenia R. Jefferson and I’m author of Confessions of a Frustrated Millennial. It’s a book about three black millennial women who are trying to navigate post-college life and achieve their dreams.

 

How I came to write this book has been an interesting, yet long journey. When I was little I dreamed of becoming a writer. I wrote short stories as a girl and I enjoyed reading. However, as I got older I started to realize that just being a writer wouldn’t bring in “money” so when I went off to college I decided to major in journalism and then went back and got my master’s degree in Integrated Marketing Communications.

 

The first job I landed after my master’s degree was a marketing communications coordinator at a non-profit association. I absolutely hated my job. I was nitpicked on and every mistake I made was taken to HR. Eventually, they let me go and I fell in a deep depression.

 

It was one of my biggest failures. I was searching for a new job and it seemed like nothing was happening for me. While unemployed, I decided to return back to my first love of writing. That’s when I started to develop the characters Natasha, Danielle and Jayla. All of them had a piece of me even though their stories are all different. The more I started to write the more cathartic it was. I was frustrated where I was in life at the time, but the more I shaped my own characters, the more I started to trust the process in my own life. I knew God was writing my story as I was writing my character’s story. I wrote the book on and off while in between freelancing jobs. However, I finally finished at the end of 2015.

 

While this book highlights some of the uncertainties that millennials go through, I feel that the subject is broader than that. It’s for anybody who’s about to give up on a dream. It’s for the person who has anxiety about where their life is going. It’s for the new graduate who doesn’t know what they want to do in their life.

 

Life is a process and while some parts are harder than others it’s a beautiful journey – good and bad.

 

Confession of a Frustrated Millennial is available through Amazon (paperback and Kindle) and Barnes & Noble.

