I don’t really have much to say at the moment. I’ve got a review ready to go up tomorrow and another that’s going to go live next Tuesday, so keep an eye out for those.

I’m noticing that I get a lot wordier on reviews where I didn’t like the book than on ones where I was neutral or enjoyed it. I’m not sure if that means I need to trim my negative reviews or find more to say on my positive ones.

It also seems like I’m harder on books that could have been good than ones that were just flat out bad. I know it’s been the case for at least a couple of reviews. I think it’s that the potential makes the places where it falls flat feel that much worse. Like eating decent brownies and then hitting a pocket of salt or something.

I’m also sure that part of not having a ton to say about the books I like is that I don’t want to just gush about it. That general rule is getting put aside for the review tomorrow, that book is worth gushing over. But, for the most part, I don’t want to heap praise on a novel because I don’t feel like I’m giving it as much thought as it deserves to just say good things. It’s kind of the reverse of trying to find something good to say about books I don’t like.

But, yeah, I’m in a wordy mood and needed to write a thing. What do you guys think? What makes you talk about a book the longest?

