I’ve been thinking since I posted the thing about DC nixing the Kate Kane/Maggie Sawyer wedding, but one of the things I really want to see more of is the two of them dealing with their relationship problems. Like, Maggie obviously had a thing about Kate having lied to her for their entire relationship by hiding that she is Batwoman. We’ve seen all of two scenes dealing with that and while both ended up with Kate sort of cowed, I don’t know that they’ve really dealt with stuff. I want to see an actual talk about this stuff rather than the “hey, as long as you don’t hurt my daughter or cheat on me” thing that we got before the second proposal. I want to see them deal with relationship stuff, be there for each other and react to not being able to be there for each other, both knowing that the other is doing seriously dangerous stuff.

Seeing them take a break from their relationship, not break up exactly but take a pause to sort things out apart, could be great especially with the “somehow Kate and Bruce fought and neither is dead or permanently injured” thing from Williams and Blackman’s arc going unfinished. I want to see the fall out if Toby or Renee show back up, or if Jamie doesn’t like Kate at all.

Plus, I honestly think that Kate Kane has serious amounts of growing up to do relationship wise. It’s like, they could work and they could work well, but Maggie seems like she’s the one making all the compromises for it to happen. Kate needs to meet her in the middle more. Less stunty “I did this to you, so I have to experience it myself so I understand just how bad it was” stuff, because another blogger was right, that could get taken to scary extremes really easily, and more “I know I did this and I can’t understand how it effected you, but what can I do to start making it better?” , more talking about problems.

I also want to see the inner personal fallout from the unfinished arc, because that really would have changed everything.

So, sign off if you’re out there and tell me what you think.

