So, related to my last post, and I officially did not manage to win at NaNoWriMo, what all kinds of heroes and heroines really get you guys into a book?

Me, I’m big on trickster hero types who tend to more talk their way around the problem until they have a way to beat it.  Kitty Norville is a good example of this kind of hero I think, sure she is a werewolf but she tends to find herself facing things that would tear her apart regardless if she wasn’t clever enough to see them coming.  She talks her way out of more fights than she jumps into.  That said, I’m also a fan of the more action oriented detective-y version of the trickster,  characters like Jane Rizzoli or the second Question.  The characters who have to put everything together and figure out who did the thing, but then get to go bust the badguy’s heads.

I think that part of the reason I like those sorts of characters over straight up action hero types or standard romance novel heroes comes down to the side characters they go home to at the end of the adventure.  Kitty has her husband and her pack, Rizzoli has her family, and Renee had Aristotle and Huntress.  It humanizes the characters I think, makes them more than just their spot in the plot and less than some perfect ideal of the character type.  I know that the other two types I mentioned have family and friends as well, but I’ve seldom seen them carried on well.  An action hero has family but they get shuffled off to the side for him to be McAwesome or killed off to give him motive.  Romance leads, again, tend to either have very little family so that they don’t get in the way, or their family gets trotted out to show how much of a great person they are and isn’t the other lead lucky to have them.  It just seems kind of off to me, I mean, it fits the genre but maybe that’s because it’s become so much of a convention of the genre that I’ve come to expect it.

So, that was my two cents, what do you guys think?  What makes a good hero type and what gets old quickly?

