I’m slowly getting more used to trying to review comics, it’s still not the focus of the blog but I enjoy them and about half my daily views seem to be from people trying to find out when/if characters that I’ve talked about wanting to see in the DCnU will be showing up.  So, why not?

Issue four picks up almost immediately after issue three’s ending.  Bette Kane is back in the Flamebird costume ready to take down the scum of Gotham to prove herself to herself and probably her cousin.  Predictably, this does not go well and the reader is treated to  vibrantly colored scenes of Flamebird in a painfully one-sided fight interspersed with tasteful scenes of Kate and Maggie having comfort sex.  From there, Batwoman takes to the streets to track down the monster that’s been kidnapping Gotham’s children.  Meanwhile, Agent Chase tricks Bette into revealing her cousin’s name and, possibly, Batwoman’s identity.

Jumping right in, if Batwoman: Elegy hadn’t sold me on J.H. Willaims III’s art then this issue would have.  The Bette’s fight scene contrasts starkly with the clips of Kate and Maggie.  The bright colors of one really complemented the muted sketchy qualities of the other.  It makes what would have already been tender scenes all that much more so.  And the two page spread of Batwoman coming through that window where each scallop of her cape contains another panel was just awesome.

I find myself increasingly hoping that something really bad happens to Agent Chase.  On a logical level I know she’s just doing her job, but there’s a level of casual cruelty in the way she delt with Bette that just bothers me.  On the flipside, the more I read the more I like Maggie Sawyer.  She’s the beleaguered good cop here, the Commissioner Gordon to Kate’s Bat.  It makes me a bit less interested in seeing what happens when either she figures out that Kate’s Batwoman or Renee Montoya shows back up.

I’m impressed so far and I look quite forward to seeing what happens to wrap this arc up.

