So it’s been an odd couple of days, I know I always say that when I’m behind schedule, but I blame Halloween this time.  Crazy time of year.  We got two days of coat weather and then today was T-shirt weather.  Great times though, nice to see people out having a good time.  So, since today is Halloween and all, I figured I’d toss in a review of the freebie story from Rizzoli and Isles season one.  This isn’t going to be a long one by any means but if you guys are interested it should still be free for the Kindle or to read on the show’s website.  So, no more of that, on to “Freaks”.

Following the sounds of blood curdling screams, the team is called out on an apparent homicide in an abandoned church where the body of a young woman is found apparently strangled.  A near by coffin shows signs of inhabitation.  Can Rizzoli and Isles solve a case of supernatural proportions.

Now Tess Gerritsen’s “Freaks” is a weird one right off the bat because it’s Tess Gerritsen writing Janet Tamaro’s versions of Tess Gerritsen’s Rizzoli and Isles.  That alone had me thinking of it as some kind of strange recursive fan fiction right off the bat. That said, it’s still Tess Gerritsen writing so it’s still good but it’s been simplified, like a YA edition of Rizzoli and Isles.  “Freaks” isn’t long in the least, sort of a fun sized bar that feels like it should have been bigger.  That feeds into my only big disappointment with “Freaks”, the ending feels terribly rushed leaving me feeling a bit left in the lurch with a sample for The Silent Girl that’s longer than the story preceding it.  I’m sure that this was meant to make it feel more like an episode of the show and I’m pretty sure that I could guess at the breaks between weekly installments, but the last be is a rough note at the end of a fairly decent story.

At this point in time, I’m pretty sure my head would explode if they tried to do a novelization of the show based loosely on the novels.  I’m also pretty sure that they’d sell really well until a couple of seasons after the show ended, but that’s beside the point.  “Freaks”, much like the show it’s based on, is something that I would have liked a lot more if it had been marketed as an original thing rather than as Rizzoli and Isles.  It’s still got pretty decent writing and if it were the first chapter in a longer book I would probably buy the book.  I’m not real sure how to review it though.  It earns a probably a four for the writing itself, but the ending makes me want to drop a point and the seasonal feel to it makes me wonder if I would rate it any different if I’d read it during the Summer.

As a note, this was supposed to go up on Halloween but then I tried napping so that it wouldn’t  sound like I’d typed the thing three quarters of the way asleep.  I woke up at seven something this morning wondering what had happened to my alarm.  Good times.

