This was going to go up sometime last night, but then my internet decided to derp and I lost the original post.  Not that that matters much though, because I finally got to read the new Batgirl!  Much as I’d expected, I walked away from reading it not really sure if I liked it or not.  This Babs went through the events of The Killing Joke, yes, but she was to all appearances still Batgirl at the time.  Why didn’t any of the bad guys put two and two together and figure out that the commissioner’s daughter and Batgirl were the same person when this happened?  Did someone step in with a red wig while she was out?  Did they start a rumor that she and the big Bat had a falling out and she quit after this?  The good news is that issue 1 does show Babs dealing with being out of her wheel chair and other characters reacting to it.  The bad news, to my mind anyway, is that this Babs never seems to have been Oracle.  I’m going to go on a bit of a tangent here, but Oracle!Babs is the only one I’ve read until now and I tend to associate Bat!Babs with the Batman Animated Series and her more carefree pre- Killing Joke incarnation, thus part of the lack of Oracle thing.

I’m of two minds here.  On one hand, it’s Barbara Gordon as Batgirl again and the writing is covering her reactions to things through the lens of a post- Killing Joke Babs. On the other hand, it’s Barbara Gordon as Batgirl again and I haven’t heard anything about what they’re going to do with the other two Batgirls, also back to the lack of Oracle.  Part of me is really happy because this is like a piece of my childhood coming back with the potential to be really awesome.  Another,somewhat larger part would have loved to see an Oracle who could (and would) step in when someone or something threatened her Birds but who was still more or less that Oracle.  Both parts found it rather hilarious when Babs corrected the people referring to her as Batwoman.

It’s probably obvious by now, but I’m going to give this at least a couple more months because it’s still Barbara Gordon as written by Gail Simone.  What about you guys?  Any thoughts on the DCnU now that stuff is actually happening?

