Welcome back everybody!  As you guys know, I’ve had a give away for Mike Saxton’s 7 Scorpions Rebellion running for most of the week and today lovely readers we’ve got a guest post from the author himself.  So, here we go I’ll see you guys again tomorrow with a review!

I wanted to first thank Lauren for allowing me to invade her blog. For my post, I wanted to give you all a little peak inside the head of an author: me. That might be a scary trip so make sure you’re not reading this before going to bed, otherwise, you may have nightmares. I want to give a disclaimer up front that the purpose of this is not to whine or complain. It’s simply to give you a glimpse at what not only drives me, but a number of other authors as well.

 

I like writing. For me, it’s a form of artistic expression, and the only artistic expression I’m capable of doing even halfway decently (I draw like a chimp, sing like a frog, dance like a 3-legged dog, and play musical instruments like a platypus). That’s why I do it. That’s why a lot of authors do it.

 

There are a number of people out there who have written creative works that have never seen publication. I have some myself. Matter of fact, the 7 Scorpions Trilogy was originally going to join that pile of things that I wrote just for the sake of writing. Unlike much of the other material I’ve tried my hand at; this trilogy has been a part of my life for 17 years, starting with the dreams that inspired them. I admit to having an attachment and I wanted more for it than just taking up space on a hard drive.

 

The publishing arena is not easy to get into and is even more challenging to remain in. There are over a quarter million books published in the United States alone every year, and that number is increasing. Over 98% of them never sell more than a hundred copies (fortunately, I passed the 100 copy mark). So for many authors, it all starts and ends with the first published book. It’s expensive, even if you’re traditionally published. It’s time consuming. Trying to market in an environment that is a veritable ocean is much like trying to go from your high school football team to the NFL.

 

Some of you may be aspiring writers. It is a wonderful thing. I’ve heard some people adamantly put their foot down saying that it is okay to get into this industry to make money. Personally, I feel that is one of the most unhealthy things you can do to yourself. It’s so easy to beat yourself up when you’re not making money. It’s also much easier to get frustrated and quit. For me, as I mentioned, the 7 Scorpions trilogy is important to me on a level that is beyond monetary compensation. Would I like to see it become a huge success? Of course. Does it matter to me if it doesn’t go any further than it already has? Nope. I published it because I want to share it. Because my true goal as an author is to have my work read, not make money. That doesn’t mean I’d turn my nose up to money but having cash never made me happy before, it certainly won’t now. Heck, I even had the eBook price dropped to 99 cents several months ago because I was more interested in having it read than attempting to rake in riches with my first book (or any book thereafter).

So I may never become Tom Clancy, Stephen King, Jack Higgins, Dan Brown, or any number of millionaire authors. That’s okay (in some ways, it saves a lot of trouble). I followed my dream and put something near and dear out there for the world. What the world does with it now is up to them, not me. I will accept the decision, whatever it may be.

