OK, I’m behind on this is a big way.  Apparently DC recently sent out a FAQ of sorts to some comic shops that explains about the new 52, mostly by talking about how “epic and ambitious” it is for the questions section and then going into marketing and  wordbites from various areas of the press.

Three things struck me about this, things that may make me a bit of a harder sell come September than I’d expected even given my current feelings towards this.  Countdown time.

3) The previously mentioned “epic and ambitious” comments – Yes, I get that this is supposed to be a really big deal for DC, but so was 52 and Final Crisis and Crisis on Infinite Earths and Darkest Night.  The fact that this seemed to be the answer for everything just doesn’t flow right for me for the same reason that I’m probably not going to check out someone’s band if all they can say is that it’s “epic”.  Sure it’s a bit ambitious to take this kind of chance with their current readers, but I would think that it would be more so to stick with what they already had and write from there.  Yes, it’s intimidating to get into comics at issue #643 or even issue #87 but I don’t think the renumbering is going to draw in that many new long term readers.  Why waste the word epic to describe it in your FAQ?  It’s over used anymore as is and makes the writer sound a bit like a parent trying to be “down with the young folks”.

2) Wonder Woman Listed as a “Possible Sleeper Hit” – She’s one of the big three, so this just throws me.  Yes, Wondy has some really wonky villains and some really messed up story lines, but she’s still billed as one of their big heroes and has a higher chance of getting marketed than just about any other DC heroine I can think of.  Do her comics really do that bad?  I don’t really have a problem on this one, just thrown off.

1) The Killing Joke Happened – This one bothers my sensibilities as a writer more than anything and for multiple reasons.  Firstly, if everything’s been condensed into five years, when did The Killing Joke happen?  This assumes that they haven’t tweaked it for the reboot and that Babs had already been Batgirl and wasn’t anymore at the time.  How long was she Batgirl if super heroes have only been around for five years and she had time as Oracle?  How long was she oracle?  Did she work with/lead the Birds of Prey?  They’re going to have to be really careful with explanations here.  I personally cannot see a Barbara Gordon who had been both Batgirl and Oracle going back to being Batgirl.  Making up a new identity and using that?  Well, yes, maybe even becoming a more action oriented version of Oracle but not taking back the Batmantle.

Also, if we assume that Babs was Oracle for a while, will there be mentions of Cassandra Cain’s Batgirl?  I’ve already heard rumors about Stephanie Brown being back without her Robin/Batgirl history.  Does that mean that we’re going to get Black Bat out of nowhere?  Where did all the Robins come from if Bats has only been at work for five years?  The FAQ said something about keeping some of the big character defining moments for characters.  Was Jason Todd still blown up by the Joker?  Was Cass still trained from birth to be the ultimate assassin?  Where in the world did Damian come from?  I’m off subject, but having The Killing Joke still in play as well as all the other Bats roaming around brings up far more questions that I think will get answered. It seems like a lazy set up to keep as many characters as possible without taking their histories into account.  I’d love to hear more on this if anyone knows anything about it.

I want to know what you guys have heard about the New 52.  Anything that doesn’t quite add up?  Wild mass guessing?  Anyone want to try to answer the Question?

