Hey guess what?  I’m chewing this bone again, but with a direct reason this time.  I picked my draw box up today, honestly not sure why I didn’t wait until July but there you go,  and got the last issue of the current run of Birds of Prey.  Now, first off, I have to admit that the only reason I started reading Birds was because I read somewhere that the Question was going to be in several issues a while back and I liked what I’d heard of the character.  I figured that it would last at least three issues based on the first part, maybe four so that they’d have something to wind up before jumping into the reboot.  I didn’t pay attention to the dates printed on them, why would August’s issue be out in June?  So, I’m a bit miffed there.

This is one of those things that I kind of feel cheated knowing that it’s the last one and then being left at a cliff hanger where there isn’t going to be a next issue.  I feel like there should have been more but DC, doubtless wanting to get ready for September, just cut it off and told Gail Simone to end it immediately.  It was kind of a slap in the face that I paid three bucks for something that reads like the author was told to slap an ending on whatever she had and be done with it.

I bought this to see the Question being awesome, instead I got two decent comics one of which actually featured the character I bought them for.  Maybe DC will eventually give fans back the current world and this will eventually be revisited, but I am disappointed.

