Sorry that I’m late posting a review again.  Spring Break started today, so the last few days have been a bit busy what with getting home and settling in.  I should have another review up this coming Saturday for the second of the three Marshall Cavendish books.

ZiTFACE by Emily Howse is one of three books that I recently got from Marshall Cavendish.  I’ll admit that I was a little surprised to get three books from one request, but I was also more surprised that all three were aimed squarely at readers “twelve and up.”  So, I’m not the target audience once again, but when have I let that stop me?  So here’s ZiTFACE from a college kid’s perspective.

Olivia has it all, great friends, good looks, and a job as an actress doing commercials.  But then she gets a zit.  The zit stresses her out and becomes more zits.  She’s stuck feeling as if her life is spiraling out of control with no one to talk to and her agent pressuring her to fix her face immediately.  Then, she starts to rethink everything and finds that she likes what she sees.

The first, roughly, half of the book is back story and setting Olivia up for her big fall.  Quite a bit is said but aside from the set up for Olivia’s Wacky Water commercial, not much happens.  A lot of seemingly insignificant things were gone over multiple times, but that lends an idea of the kind of kid that Olivia is to the narration.  There really wasn’t any big fall for Olivia to take the kid that mocked her was already established as being a bit of a jerk, her manager was quickly established as being a control freak and an opportunist, and the shallow romance interest guy that she lost was acknowledged as shallow from his first introduction.  The only moment when one of the problems felt like a genuine problem was when she had a fight with her best friend.

I have to admit, this isn’t the kind of book I’d have picked up as a kid.  Olivia is introduced as being the girl that everyone should want to be, but she comes across as a bit of a whiner.  I can sort of understand her reaction, she does have a lot to lose, but at the same time every problem she has could have been avoided if she’d stopped and talked to her friends.  Olivia never sat down and said, “hey, sorry I’ve acted weird lately, problem skin,” instead she gets defensive and suspicious of everyone.  On the up side, as the book goes on, Olivia grows up a bit and starts to think about how small her problem is compared to other peoples’.  I’m a little luke warm towards ZiTFACE, it isn’t really my kind of book but it’s also fairly well written.  My biggest problem was with the way it treated acne like the plague, an attempt at fixing this was made at the end in the author’s note and because of the narrator’s age can be forgiven somewhat.  I give it a three out of five.

