This is, as you might have guessed by the Tuesday update, kind of late.  I’d meant to have it finished and posted on Saturday, but then real life kicked me square in the butt.  Also, the fact that I wasn’t sure what to do with a non-fiction, non-novel book.

This is going to be a bit different than usual.  Today’s review is for Laura Werlin’s Grilled Cheese, Please! a cookbook rather than a novel.  In light of this, I also have to frame my review by stating that I am a jobless college student who must rely on her friends to get from place to place, so probably not the target audience for this particular book.  I’m also going to bemoan the fact that I didn’t get a chance to test any of the recipes in the cookbook before posting this due to a lack of ingredients.

First off, when it is mentioned somewhere that this “isn’t your mother’s grilled cheese”, it is completely right.  It forgets to mention though, that it also isn’t your college aged child’s or your recently self supporting adult’s grilled cheese.  Some of the cheeses and breads here aren’t going to be in your local grocery store’s cheese section, so you may have to go to one of the organic food places that seem to stock more exotic fair.  I will give Ms. Werlin points though for suggesting a couple of alternatives for some of her ingredients.  Some of the ingredients listed as optional are downright extravagant, such as white truffles.  Other ingredients require a ton of prep work, such as the tomato jam or the apple-onion chutney.  Many of the recipes sound absolutely delicious, but hard on the wallet.

The directions are clear and concise, offering instructions for both a pan and a sandwich maker.  There’s a picture to go with every recipe.  About the only problem I found with the instructions was that Ms.  Werlin used ounces for the amount of cheese used rather than cups.  She does provide a reason for this as well as an approximation of about how much grated cheese is in an ounce, but seems to forget that unless one buys the exact amount needed they’d have to use a kitchen weight which is another thing that not too many basic kitchens seem to have.  I’m going to say that I was a bit disappointed at my inability to test out the recipes and that the unavailability of a number of the ingredients was quite frustrating.  The few problems aside, Grilled Cheese, Please! is a solid cook book, I give it a three out of five.

