This is going to be a really short review, so I apologize for that.  I’ll probably be trying to get a little ahead of schedule as the holidays get closer, so there may be reviews posted at odd times.

I recently finished Ginger Mayerson’s Electricland, and I’m still not quite sure what to make of it.  The main characters are a team of middle aged, female terrorists and some kid named Drew.  The women want to either kill Drew or get the information that he took from them, possibly both.  Drew just wants to forget about the recent craziness in his life and spend time with the man he has come to love.

My main problem with Electricland has got to be the lack of connection I felt towards the characters.  I was not engaged in their stories or what was happening to them.  The focus on Drew’s sex life was off putting and totally gratuitous.  He felt like he could have been a pretty nifty character, they all did, but he didn’t have any real presence.  The characters were static.  There was an attempt at character growth with Viola, but it felt forced and read awkwardly.  There was a good deal of Los Angeles getting blown up and much vague talk of the characters’ pasts, but not a lot in the plot department.  The set up of the text was awkward, jumping from Titania explaining points to her supervisors to flashbacks which made up the meat of the novel, it was a bit jarring.  Even the eponymous Electricland itself was a bit of a letdown because nothing was really done with it.  All said and done, I found Electricland to be more effort than it was worth; it just isn’t my cup of tea.  I will however try other books written by Mayerson for comparison.

