Because it is Friday, and because I had fun with the book and can, I’m going to post another early review.

Nicole Peeler’s Tempest Rising, is one of those books that I’d seen a few times at the bookstore but hadn’t thought much of.  Later I picked it up at a sale as part of a “buy x, get one” deal.  It had a good review from an author that I already knew that I liked, and the blurb had me expecting something along the lines of Neil Gaiman’s American Gods mixed with a romantic suspense novel.  When I started reading it, I was struck by the narrator.

Meet Jane True, your protagonist and narrator for the evening, she enjoys going on nightly swims in the freezing cold ocean near a whirl pool.  When she discovers a body in the Old Sow, she gets thrown into a world that she never knew existed.  Enter hot vampire Ryu, an investigator for the supernatural world’s ruling body.  Suddenly it turns out that many of the people who were kind to her aren’t human.  The following investigation leads Jane further and further into her mother’s world, and closer to Ryu.

Because Jane is the narrator, we spend the entirety of the book in her head.  This gives the reader a great view of her interests, her opinions on other characters, and a ton of self-pity.  Jane’s thoughts do seem to fit those of an actual young adult, unfortunately this leads to her hitting the same idea a dozen different ways.  At the same time, she is brave, she is clever, but she also seems to get side tracked quite a bit.  Add in Ryu, Jane’s love interest.   He’s attractive, he’s protective, he’s romantic, but he also tends towards trying to protect Jane from things that she really should be aware of.

My only real problem with the book was some of the word use. .  Peeler writes almost exactly like I would expect an English professor to.  She tends to use large words where smaller, more common ones would do, and seems to be trying too hard to get her twenty something protagonist to sound twenty something.  Jane used words in her thoughts that I don’t think I have ever heard anyone use in real life and used a couple of words in rather odd ways.  The story was fairly solid, with a pretty good mix of plot and action, but I had some trouble with some of the descriptions due to them being offered in the form of movie comparisons.   In a rather strange turn I found myself repeatedly reminded of Twilight, but then found that subverted in the next few lines.  For example, Ryu is described as being really well put together, hotter than a match head, the whole nine yards.  He also frustrates Jane a number of times and tends to seem rather temperamental.  The two leads fall for each other almost immediately, but Jane doesn’t call it “true love” or obsess about Ryu.  The series could very easily fall into clichés, but manages not to by mocking some of those very clichés.  I will definitely be reading the next book when it comes out.

